Friday, August 21, 2009

Centre Pompidou


Today we went to the Centre Pompidou. It's the Modern Art Museam here. It was interesting, the major exhibit was called Elle, all women artists. Which was very interesting. Before we got there though, we got lost and wandered to the top, and were rewarded with an awesome view of the rooftops of Paris and the Notre Dame.

As for the exhibits, well, I was excited for Gwen to see some modern art, especially from a female POV. Well, I learned pretty quickly that some of it was simply not appropriate for Gwen. We left after we walked into an exhibit with a movie playing on a wall of a naked woman hoola hooping with a hoola hoop made of barbed wire. Close up of her waist as it hit and marked her. I am sure there was a point being made, but, I got Gwen out of there before I could read what that point might be, precisely. It was disturbing to say the least. Some exhibits are marked not appropriate for children, this one was not, so it makes me wonder what could possibly be worse. I'm not sure I want to know.

But there were some fun interactive ones too....


Then we played in the fountain. I must admit that we play in a lot of fountains in Paris. First of all, there are lots to play in. And second of all, it's freaking hot here!



We wandered around the area, and found a CAMPER store! I love Camper shoes more than any other brand on earth! (Ben Sherman is pretty close.... ) Camper shoes are much cheaper in Paris than in Toronto, MUCH cheaper. I bought 4 pairs for the price of 1.5 pairs back home. And since I will be collecting a 40 euro rebate at the airport on the way home, I'm laughing. Gwen picked out two, and I also got two. If you spent more than 175 euros in any store, you are entitled to 12% of your VAT back cash on the way home, which is how I'm entitled to the rebate.

Then we went to the Musee des Poupees. the Doll Museam. It should have been called, The Shrine to Barbie. But Gwen liked it, so ok. Gwen was allowed to chose anything from the gift shop, she chose a jump rope.



We had to lug all those shoes home, and took a nap. Then we went to Aquaboulevard. This was super fun! it's an indoor water park with slides and a life sizes replica whale that kids can climb around in, and slide out of a fast and gentle slide. Exciting enough for bigger kids, and this mommy, yet gentle enough to for the toddler set. I had to buy a swimming suit, since I forgot mine, and there is a big sporting goods store next door. I got a great suit cheap, and Gwen got Roller Blades, complete with matching helmet, and pads. She insisted on wearing them home. I let her wear them the two blocks to the Metro, and it was a very slow two blocks, since it is a new thing for her, then she had to carry them from there.

No comments:

Post a Comment